By LuLu

The chronicles of a compulsive crafter!

Labels and Tags – Part One April 3, 2009

Filed under: Labels — bylulu @ 10:18 am
Tags: ,

So as promised I tried out making my own labels using the Allyson Hill Tutorial. I know I have 2 more types of labels to try. (see previous post) I am going to try the iron on labels tonight I think .

As for the printable fabric I followed Allyson Hill’s Tutorial and every thing came out GREAT! The only problem with the first batch is that they were created by me in Word. So they weren’t the fancy 2 sided labels that Allyson had…. BUT for my birthday my hubby got me Label Factory Deluxe 3.0 and I LOVE it!! It made making the lables a lot more stress free. That being said I would have easily survived with plain ol’ word. *but being spoiled is nice too* The only semi consern with these tags is that they were time consuming when putting the fray check on them, but I would (and will) do this again.

The iron on labels

The iron on labels

With the iron on labels – the first problem I had was finding a way to print in reverse… as I had never done it before. After Hubby Got me Label Factory deluxe 3.0 though that was no problem!! The program has a setting for Iron on transfer paper and does all the flipping automatically (so you don’t forget!!) printing this way i was able to get almost 90 labels on a page. Which is quite impressive for one sheet of paper. Since you don’t have to allow for seam allowances on the iron on lables its easy to fit a bunch on a page. This method could easily be done in word as long as you remember to flip it for printing in reverse. I think this method would give you the ability to customize a lot, but they don’t look as professional as the ones done on printable fabric.

Now I’m off to sew theses on to a large scrap of fabric and see how they hold up to washing and drying and washing and drying and washing and drying… you get the picture. I’ll post more when I see how they stand up to the washing.

Labels before wash

Labels before wash

The last method of stamping the labels on I’m really looking forward to, but I’ve still got to get the fabric pigment or ink or what ever its called and a stamp. I may try it with a plain jane smiley face or what ever I have around here instead of having one custom made right away, but I LOVE the idea of being able to make Tag less Clothing…. Especially for the little ones… *I know I hated tags!!*

Until next time — Be creative!!

~LuLu

 

One Response to “Labels and Tags – Part One”

  1. Cheryl A Says:

    I’ve made labels in Word, double sided. But I am cheap and too lazy to buy and learn any other program. I just put a couple of spaces between the text for the front and back. Worked great. And I sewed my side edges, instead of Fray check. You can see what they looked like on my blog, under doll quilts.


Leave a Reply

