By LuLu

The chronicles of a compulsive crafter!

I’ve been Crafty! May 31, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bylulu @ 3:24 am

Even after my last post all the Sew Mama, Sew giveaway blogs are making me feel a little guilty for not investing more time in my blog!  I do have valid excuses, I promise! But lets not get bogged down with excuses… instead lets look at some of the pretty things I’ve been sewing! (yup I took pictures! – See I didn’t totally forget about my Blog!)

My first purse attempt - Now one of my favorite patterns!

My first purse attempt - Now one of my favorite patterns!

This is the Buttercup Bag – The first sewing project I had made in a LONG LONG time! Its from a free pattern that can be found here! I’ve since made several more (in better fabrics) that I LOVE! This is the basis for some other purse ideas I’m working on!

This was an old prom dress that I loved the fabric on, but it no longer fit me or my life!

This was an old prom dress that I loved the fabric on, but it no longer fit me or my life!

So I cut it up and made this skirt! No pattern - no nothing just an Idea and some scissors!So I cut it up and made this skirt! No pattern – no nothing just an Idea and some scissors!

So I know the second picture isn’t the greatest, but you can still see the cute skirt I made from the old dress! I love the fabric and color! I like to wear this with leggings and some cute black flats and it looks super trendy! 🙂 For this project I knew what I wanted to do, but not quite how to do it so I just JUMPED IN! It turned out pretty good for having NO IDEA what I was doing! 🙂

I was inspired by some fellow crafters and their NO BUY promises. I decided to see if I could make Undies that I liked and would wear. This is what I came up with

I decided to see if I could make Undies that I liked and would wear.

I also decided to try Freezer paper and bleach stensiling! :) Every one needs a pair of panties that say Juicy don't they?

I also decided to try Freezer paper and bleach stenciling! 🙂 Every one needs a pair of panties that say Juicy don't they?

I’m a big blog reader. Possibly an obsessive blog reader that’s what inspired me to make my own blog. Well a lot of the blogs I read talk about a no buy or only buying hand made items. I haven’t been brave enough to make that promise yet,  but I’m working on it! I decided that for my Birthday (April 20th) I wanted a panty pattern. So after much deliberation and searching I found the Kaotic Kraft Kuties Knicker Pattern on Etsy. Plus my good friend – inspiration Amy Karol – The angry Chicken Recommended it too! 🙂 These were a bit tight in the leg, but they fit my mom… So now my mother has a LuLu original pair of JUICY undies… LOL

I wanted a custom shirt to wear while our school celebrated student's reading success!

I wanted a custom shirt to wear while our school celebrated student's reading success!

This is what I came up with!

This is what I came up with!

My school was celebrating the students who met their reading goals – (my WHOLE Class) so I decided I wanted something special to wear. I’m not really a big T-shirt girl, but we were allowed to wear jeans so I decided to see what I could do. I was recently given some shirts – long sleeve that didn’t fit right – too short for how I like them plus LONG SLEEVE in FLORIDA! So I took the blue one and used it as the body… cutting off the sleeves and the green one became the bottom and the edge of the sleeves making a mock ringer T. I really liked how it came out. Then I made a Freezer paper stencil and painted I Heart Books! All in all I know its nerdy, but so darn cute! – Plus there is enough of the green shirt left over to make undies 🙂

I love my new skirts!! :)

I love my new skirts!! 🙂

The possibilities are endless!

The possibilities are endless!

So using Amy Karol’s 5 Min Skirt – Another FREE tutorial – I came up with these two Lovely thing!! The Polka dot one is knee length (and may soon be worn with leggings) the flower one is a very modest calf length, but my husband loves it! I like the Polka dot one the best – it makes me feel soooo sassy! 🙂

Okay that’s all I have pictures of now, but not all I’ve been doing… See why I haven’t posted!!! All that on top of buying, organizing, and fixing up our new house…

Oh yeah! I've also been making these! Homemade Pizza! YUMMY!

Oh yeah! I've also been making these! Homemade Pizza! YUMMY!

Yeah homemade pizza! Super yummy and not terribly bad for us… that is if we keep it to one or two slices!

So that’s not even all i’ve sewn lately so I’ll have to post again soon!

Until then feel free to ask questions and get crafty!!

~LuLu

 

One Response to “I’ve been Crafty!”

  1. trashalou Says:

    Can’t find an email contact on your blog so am crashing your comments to let you know you are a winner in my Sew Mama Sew giveaway.

    Please send me an email so I can get your prize out in the mail. Plus, making your own knickers? Now that is fantastic!


Leave a Reply

