By LuLu

The chronicles of a compulsive crafter!

School’s out for summer… June 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bylulu @ 7:47 pm

It’s that time of year again. Where all teachers in unison sing “School’s Out!” the 1972 classic by Alice Cooper!

As I face my new found freedom I am left wondering what will I do to fill all my time!! 🙂 I do have a 2 week training coming up soon, but other than the summer is my oyster 🙂

Here is what I have been up to lately.

I’ve made several of these Juggling sized scrap balls. The original pattern was for a much bigger ball, with a little modification it has become my husband’s favorite Juggling balls. The idea behind the scrap ball is that you make the ball and leave the seam open for stuffing as usual, but instead of filling with fiber fill you leave it open on your sewing table and stuff with all that unusable scrap! I love it because it keeps my sewing table clean and makes something neat in the process

Here is the origional one. It's too big to juggle, but fun for games and toss!

Here is the origional one. It's too big to juggle, but fun for games and toss!

Here they are in action!

Here they are in action!

I’ve been toying with some reusable grocery bags I already have a ton that the stores have given away, but they aren’t very pretty! This is a bag I made using a regular plastic shopping bag as a pattern.

Flat and empty... sort of boring! :)

Flat and empty... sort of boring! 🙂

Full and exciting!

Full and exciting!

This bag holds a TON 2 gallons of milk fits in easy with room to spare! Plus it looks so exciting and inviting!

This summer I’ll be making recycled crayons from all of these old broken and now NAKED crayons. As a teacher I end up with tons of broken crayons. I always like to give the kids new ones for Christmas or for summer because I like to be the teacher who gives educational/constructive gifts. Well the old crayons end up pealed (Naked) and then formed into what my kids call Crayon Cookies! (Because I used a round muffin tin as a mold) Well this summer I want to step it up and make some more exciting shapes so I’ll be on the hunt for new molds!

Naked Crayons - Oh the potential!

Naked Crayons - Oh the potential!

More to come later! I’ve got lots of sewing I want to be doing!  Until next time – Get messy!

~LuLu

 

Leave a Reply

